Willard Wilson re-elected Skidegate chief councillor

  • Mon Feb 2nd, 2004 2:00pm
  • News

Almost 500 people cast ballots in the Skidegate Band Council elections Friday (Jan. 30), voting in Willard Wilson as chief councillor for a second two-year term.
Mr. Wilson said he will be setting priorities with his new council members, once they are sworn in later this month. One of the most important tasks ahead, he said, is communicating more with Skidegate residents and band members who live off-reserve.
One the economic development front, Mr. Wilson said the band council will continue working hard on the Qay’llnagaay Heritage Centre, one of the biggest projects ever constructed in Skidegate. At the moment, Skidegate is trying to get the timber promised by the Ministry of Forests six months ago, he said.
“This is the biggest project the band council will have done to date,” he said. “It is a big part of our economic strategy.”
Seven councillors were also elected, five who served on the previous band council and two new faces. The successful candidates are: David Crosby, Richard Davidson (Russ), Earl Moody, Paul Pearson, Amanda Reid-Stevens, Colin Richardson and Edward Russ.
Complete election results:
• For chief councillor – Willard Wilson-183, Wayne Wilson-149, Gary Russ-103, Shelly Gladstone-46.

• For councillor – Amanda Reid-Stevens-312, Earl Moody-185, Colin Richardson-181, David Crosby-179, Paul Pearson-172, Richard Davidson-149, Edward Russ-142, Godfrey Williams-133, Beverly Parnell-121, Ronald Williams-120, Susan Wood-105, Peggy Spencer-104, James McGuire-103, Jim Edenshaw-99, Percy Crosby-92, William Gladstone-91, Lisa Shoop-91, Russel Gladstone-85, Walter Russ-79, Roselyn Russ-73, Steven Wesley-71, Marie Sawyer-37, Carmen Pollard-17.