Best-ever mud bog held in Port Clements

  • Jul. 4, 2005 6:00 a.m.

Mud bog
Kirk Thorgeirson of TLC Automotive Services in Masset tells us that this year’s mud bog was a huge success, with approximately 300 spectators watching a total of 18 racers go head-to-head drag racing mud style!
The following racers are to be commended on taking the time to build their vehicles and participate in this event. It is not an easy task and without their spirit, the event would not happen: Rob Chenarl, Lance Barker, Tlell Waldhaus, Steve Slovak, Clint Beachy, JP Pineault, Danny Cilli, Derrick Swain, Don Hancock, Derek Hoenen, Tyler Wolnowski, Tyson Wolnowski, Tim Williams, Melissa Williams, Mike Vannerd, Dave Pottinger, Joe Parnell, Pat Hawkshaw, Luke Kurik.
Winners of the modified class: First-Danny Cilli, Second-Lance Barker, Third-Tlell Waldhaus.
Winners of the stock class: First-Dave Pottinger, Second-Melissa Williams, Third-Pat Hawkshaw.
A big thank you goes out to Craig Beachy and Mike Richard for all the work they did this year to get ready for the event, and for all their years of undying support with their equipment and time. Without their support the mud bog would not happen!
Also, a big thank you goes Sam Stanko for the use of his generator at the last minute so the PA system could be used, the Port Rec Commission for the generous donation towards prize money and the use of the property, Bytown Diesel for a generous donation and Charlotte island Tire for the gift certificate.
Also, to Danny Cilli in Pineault’s buggy for the spectacular victory show and to Joe Parnell for driving his two-wheel drive van.
Mr. Thorgeirson says next year’s mud bog will be even bigger and better! See you there!