Co-generation plant will create 11 new jobs

  • Mar. 9, 2005 5:00 p.m.

The new co-generation plant in Port Clements will provide work for 40 people during construction later this year, and full-time jobs for 11 workers once it gets going, businessman Jim Abbott told Chamber of Commerce members Sunday.
The plant, currently being assembled in China, will provide up to 7.5 megawatts of power to the north end of the islands, replacing the diesel generating station in Masset, Mr. Abbott said.
It will produce power by burning about 50,000 tons of waste wood a year, he said. In answer to questions from chamber members, he said he doesn’t anticipate a huge difficulty in finding that amount of waste. His Abfam sawmill produces around 25,000 tons a year, and the rest could come from various other sources on island, or even off-island. There’s also a possibility the plant could burn municipal waste and shredded tires, Mr. Abbott said.
Once the plant arrives here from China, it will take four months to construct it beside the Abfam mill in the Port industrial park, he said.
Chamber members thanked Mr. Abbott for his presentation.
“It’s a great step to see this plant offsetting the diesel system,” said Jacques Morin, who is currently trying to put together a Haida Gwaii energy plan, and said he looked forward to talking to Mr. Abbott in greater detail.
Port mayor Dale Lore said the co-gen plant is a bright spot for the town, which has been going through a rough patch. For those who work in the logging industry, he said, the future is very uncertain, especially with the recent announcement that Brascan is buying Weyerhaeuser Co. Ltd.
Gloria O’Brien, a Port business owner who was re-elected as Chamber vice-president, said 12 families have moved away from Port in the past two months, the future of the school is unsure, and the clinic has virtually closed down with the forced retirement of its nurse last week. Next week, the Hummingbird restaurant will close.
“Our community is up in the air,” she said. “We’re in big trouble and there should be groups like ours trying to get a better handle on where Brascan is going to take us.”
The 20 or so Chamber members re-elected Jean Traplin as president and Winston Shave as treasurer. Directors for the coming year are Andrew Merilees, Robert Baker, Dutes Dutheil, Urs Thomas, Skye Cantin and Joy Lafortune.

Just Posted

Northern Haida Gwaii Hospital to get secure room for psychiatric patients

Cost anticipated at close to $1 million for Masset hospital

Queen Charlotte explores banning single use plastics

Council seeking community input on options to reduce plastic waste

Masset fishing derby proves to be a catch

All ages participated in the competition to bring in the top salmon and halibut hauls

Yarn Bombing mastermind is back in town

Big Canada Day longweekend in the works

New rules prohibit fishing in Haida waters

Strict protection zones will be in effect to preserve resources in the area

VIDEO: Rare white killer whale captured by drone near Campbell River

The transient orca has been named Tl’uk, a Coast Salish word that means ‘moon.’

B.C.-born Carey Price brings young fan to tears at NHL Awards banquet

Anderson Whitehead first met his hockey idol after his mother died of cancer

Licence issue delays boozing while cruising on BC Ferries

Planned June launch for alcohol sales delayed

B.C. school mourns after 13-year-old killed by fallen tree on field trip

Teenager died after being struck and pinned by tree while on a field trip near Sooke

B.C. temporarily halts resource development to protect caribou

The caribou population in northeastern B.C. has dwindled over the last two decades

‘The Fonz’ gives thumbs up in letter to dyslexic students at B.C. school

Students in Maple Ridge reached out to Henry Winkler after reading one his Zipster books.

B.C. teen killed by falling tree near Victoria

Second youth also injured in freak incident during field trip at Camp Barnard near Sooke

Commercial fishers in B.C. now required to wear life-jackets on deck: WorkSafeBC

WorkSafeBC reports 24 work-related deaths in the commercial fishing industry between 2007 and 2018

Most Read