Huge field of candidates in Skidegate election

  • Jan. 14, 2004 5:00 a.m.

The Skidegate Band Council election, to be held Friday Jan. 30, has attracted a huge number of candidates. Four people are running for the position of chief councillor: Shelly (Williams) Gladstone, Gary Russ, Wayne Wilson and incumbent Willard Wilson.
And a total of 25 candidates are running for council. In alphabetical order, they are: Richard Aiken, Les Collinson, David Crosby, Percy Crosby, Wesley Richard Davidson, Jim Edenshaw, Russel Gladstone, William Gladstone, James McGuire, Earl Moody, Beverly Parnell, Paul Pearson, Carmen Pollard, Amanda Reid-Stevens, Colin Richardson, Edward Russ, Rose Russ, Walter Russ, Marie Sawyer, Lisa Shoop, Peggy Spencer, Steven Wesley, Godfrey Williams, Ronald Williams, and Susan Wood.