Peter Lantin re-elected CHN president

Appeal of results prompted by close race declared invalid

Peter Lantin has been re-elected as president of the Council of the Haida Nation.

Mr. Lantin narrowly defeated candidate Allan Davidson by 38 votes of 864 counted. That narrow margin, in addition to close numbers for Old Massett representatives, prompted an appeal of the results, delaying election results by several days.

However, after a recount the chief electoral officer, Jennifer Russ, declared the results final.

“The Appeals Board ruled that there were no grounds for an appeal under section 15.5 of the CHN Election Regulartions,” she wrote. “The Board has dismissed the appeal and the decision of the Board is final….”

The final count for president was 348 for Mr. Lantin and 313 for Mr. Davidson.

This is Mr. Lantin’s second term as president. He rose to the council’s top spot in 2012, then winning by acclamation after rival candidate Robert Mills withdrew from the race.

CHN Vice President Trevor Russ also held on to his position for another term, beating his sole challenger Christopher Campbell 640 votes to 181.

Regional elected representatives are Tyler Bellis, Robert Bennett, Leslie Brown and Stephen Grosse for Old Massett; Jason Alsop, William Shawn Cowpar, Percy Crosby and William Russ for Skidegate; Pansy Collison and Roger Smith for Prince Rupert; David Smith and Ernest Swanson for Vancouver.


Just Posted

Photos: Ts’aahl wins super-close Clan Tournament

Three games finished in overtime. In the semi-final, the defending Clan Tournament… Continue reading

New year, same tips from B.C.’s forestry watchdog

Pointing to Haida Gwaii, Forest Practices Board says district managers need more enforcement powers

Fat Tire Girls

Tough north-island duo braves river crossings and storm winds on cycling trek from Tlell to Tow Hill

Time is right for War of the Blink

New Haida manga by Michael Nicoll Yahgulanaas tells a war story that ends in the blink of an eye

Masset Magic: A Christmas Classic to remember

By Jana McLeod Here I am, a full hour before the column… Continue reading

VIDEO: Orcas put on a show near Hornby Island

Louis Jobodin shares photos and video of his experience

Body discovered in burnt out car near Trail

Police report a body was found in the burnt out trunk of a 1999 Honda Civic

VIDEO: B.C. Lions sign defensive back T.J. Lee to contract for upcoming season

The four-year veteran had a team-high four interceptions and 49 tackles last season with B.C.

How an immigrant to Canada helped Donald Trump prove his mental health

Test that cleared Trump was developed by doctor associated with McGill and Sherbrooke universities

Premier touches on multiple topics ahead of Asia trade trip

Housing and childcare are expected to be the focus of the BC NDP’s first budget in February.

UPDATE: Friends mourn boy, 15, killed in Vancouver shooting

John Horgan: ‘No stone is to be left unturned until we find the perpetrator of this heinous crime’

VIDEO: Explorers uncover Canada’s deepest cave in Fernie

The cave, named Bisaro Anima, was confirmed to have broken the record on New Year’s Day

Players sought for National Aboriginal Hockey Championships

ISPARC calls for bantam/midget players to register for selection camp in Kamloops

New funding opens for industry innovation

Northern Development Initiative Trust opened new funds, focused on areas impacted by the pine beetle

Most Read